links for 2009-01-03

  • "The thing about your overwriting, Overwriter? I mean, even worse than the fact that it's terrible and embarrassing for you. It's just boring. It's going to be the thing that makes people put your book down and never buy it. I know that in your mind, this language was a good idea. You clearly put a lot of time into stringing together as many adjectives, adverbs, and "replacement" nouns that struck you as interesting. So I'm gonna need you to try to be honest with yourself and flexible with me here.

    Some short tips for you, Overwriter…."

    Yikes. I hope he isn't talking about me. In any case, Ed Ass's tips are wise.

  • 'We could go on and on about this 21-volume naval series set against a backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars but we think The New York Times said it best when it called these "the best historical novels ever written…"'
