links for 2009-02-28

  • "There's quite a dustup at the moment about an editorial the president of the Author's Guild wrote in the New York Times, railing against Amazon's Kindle 2, which has a text to speech feature that he claims creates unauthorized derivative works and should be stopped at all costs.

    "I'm not the only author who thinks this is ridiculous: John Scalzi, Cory Doctorow, and Neil Gaiman all agree….But what if we're all wrong? As an author, performer, and consumer of audiobooks, what does this mean for me?

    "To find out, I picked a short passage from Sunken Treasure and read it. Then, I took the identical passage, and let my computer read it. I recorded the whole thing and put together something I call "Wil Wheaton versus Text 2 Speech" so you can hear for yourself."

    Take a few minutes to listen. The reading itself is entertaining, as well as the contrast between Wheaton and digital "Alex."

