links for 2009-03-06

  • "Interesting to see the design evolution of one of my favorite books of the last few years, Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao…"

    I like the US cover best, but maybe that's because I saw it first.

  • 'How about mythologizing “The Generous, Friendly Dude Who Writes Every Single Day” or “That Softspoken Religious Lady Whose Prose is Dark and Mesmerizing”? Mostly I’m against the image of the writer as a lone, edgy brooder not so much because it’s inaccurate but because it’s of little use. Writing is hard work, and if anything’s true about the process, it’s the fact that a good story is hard to find and even trickier to get on paper. What’s less romantic than staring alone at a blank screen? And edgy? I’ve changed the cat litter because I didn’t know what my characters were going to say next.'

    Yes! Via BookBalloon.com

