links for 2009-03-07

  • Reviewing 2666:

    "In the newspaper review below, I bemoan the fact that I don't have the space to discuss the book at length. That's actually just a convenient excuse; I'm not sure I really want to. I have the space here, obviously; I'm just not real sure how to use it. No one wants to hear the plot of a book as plotty as this one, and no one wants to hear an interpretation without some idea of the plot. The review below is a wobbly compromise between the two, in which I say as much of the plot as I had space for, delivered as much meaning as my overwhelmed brain was capable, and hopefully communicated as clearly as possible that I loved it."

    I just finished 2666 myself. I can't say I loved it — "love" is the wrong word. Respected, attempted, endured, perhaps. I feel inadequate to talk about the book, but Rodney's review speaks to many of my feeling about it.

  • "A blog dedicated to the cover that never happened."

    Rejected book cover designs. No, they're good, really. Just rejected.

