links for 2009-03-26

  • Ten Questions for Kathryn Joyce on Quiverfull: Inside the Christian Patriarchy Movement, (Beacon Press, 2009).
  • 'Is it "closure" people want? I hope not. Resolution? The pieces fitting together? High drama? Secrets revealed? Lyrical flights? Somebody help me out here. I honestly believe that many good books cannot have satisfying endings–that some of the best books just simply can't be ended. There is nothing wrong with this. Some stories need to be this way.'
  • "The U.S. has many problems right now, but its deadliest threat can grow to three feet long: The Chinese Snakehead. Investigative reporter Joshua Allen goes deep undercover to get the government’s reaction to a meat-eating snake."
  • "After dinner to my papers and Tangier accounts again till supper, and after supper again to them, but by my mixing them, I know not how, my private and publique accounts, it makes me mad to see how hard it is to bring them to be understood, and my head is confounded, that though I did sweare to sit up till one o’clock upon them, yet, I fear, it will be to no purpose, for I cannot understand what I do or have been doing of them to-day."

    I know exactly how you feel, Sam.

