links for 2009-07-12

  • "The French call it l'esprit d'escalier," stairway wit. The witty thing you should have said that occurs to you only as you descend the stairs at the end of the evening. As a novelist, I find that I have staircase thoughts about each of my novels, even though it has been almost fifteen years since my first novel was published. I am always making discoveries of little details, finding a new insight about elements that would have been perfectly suited for some aspect of the story, always chancing upon something in a newspaper, in a conversation, on a train, in a novel. There is always one more small gesture that I would have appropriated for a character, if only I had found it when I was still writing that novel. …Do other writers have this experience, this sense that their novels could have been just a little more enriched by something that has only come to mind now, too late?"

    New blog by novelist Katharine Weber, via SheWrites.com

