links for 2009-11-10

  • "The people at Crown, my publishing house, said, “We don’t really do book tours anymore,” and “They’re just not the best investment of publicity funds.” My agent agreed. They explained cost-benefit ratios and said their money was better spent on banner ads, buzz campaigns, and bookstore placement. Instead of talking about a tour bus covered with cells, they talked of blogs and satellite radio tours, of Twittering and Facebooking to interact with readers. I listened and agreed; it all made perfect sense. Then I went home and thought, but I still want to go on a book tour…."

    And she will. Click over and read more about how science writer Rebecca Skloot organized her own book tour. I hear she's coming to the Festival of the Book, too…

