Sandra Beasley at New Dominion April 29

This month at New Dominion Bookshop:

Sandra Beasley will read from her new collection of poems

I Was the Jukebox

Thursday, April 29 at 5:30 PM

I Was the Jukebox was the winner of the 2009 Barnard Women Poets Prize.

“These poems are fresh, crisp, and muscular. They are decisive and fearless. Every object, icon, or historical moment has a soul with a voice. In these poems these soulful ones elbow their way to the surface of the page, smartly into the contemporary now.”—Joy Harjo, prize citation

from “The Piano Speaks”

For an hour I forgot my fat self,

my neurotic innards, my addiction to alignment.

For an hour I forgot my fear of rain.

For an hour I was a salamander

shimmying through the kelp in search of shore,

and under his fingers the notes slid loose

from my belly in a long jellyrope of eggs

that took root in the mud.

Sandra Beasley is a graduate of the University of Virginia (2002). She was a two-time participant in the Virginia Festival of the Book. Her first collection of poems, Theories of Falling, won the 2007 New Issues Poetry Prize. Honors include a DCCAH Individual Artist Fellowship, the Friends of Literature Prize from the Poetry Foundation, the Maureen Egen Exchange Award from Poets & Writers, and fellowships to the Sewanee Writer’s Conference, VCCA, and the Millay Colony. She lives in Washington, D.C., where she is working on Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl: Tales from an Allergic Life, a nonfiction book forthcoming from Crown.

