links for 2010-07-17

  • "First, a hundred pages at a time. Then I would see if I could read two hundred pages a t a time. Then I’d see if I could read War and Peace in four or five days, because wouldn’t that give me a really thrilling and unusual aerial view of the whole of the book, a book that many people stretch over an entire summer vacation or two or three months? I thought that would really give me a sense of the shape of the novel. I’m aware that my experience as a reader is not like other people’s."

    It's certainly not much like the experience of someone who has a job that doesn't consist of reading books.

2 Responses

  1. All I can say is, “Wow!” I read War and Peace a looong time ago, but I can’t imagine reading it in 4-5 days.

  2. I’m not sure I see the big advantage to cramming into 4 or 5 days anyway.

Comments are closed.

