links for 2011-07-20

  • "Everyone tells me I look like Harry Potter. From young children to middle-aged women, they shout, 'Harry Potter!' at me on the street. When I do not respond they say, 'Harry! Hey, Harry!' They’ve done it for 10 years. The woman who works the cash register at the Chipotle around the corner from The Observer offices says, 'Has anyone ever told you you look like Harry Potter?' She says it every time. I’ve taken to saying, 'No, you’re the first one.' When a stranger smiles at me, it is typically followed by, 'Did you know you look like Harry Potter?' Yes, stranger. I know. I know, and I despise you.

    "I’ve never read any Harry Potter books. I’ve never seen the movies. I have no interest. I look like Harry Potter. This is my curse."

    –Via Poynter.org

