SELC Writing Contest deadline January 13

Environmental pollution

Press Release: Deadline Nearing for SELC Nature Writing Contest

Writers and journalists have just over a week to send submissions for SELC’s 17th annual Phillip D. Reed Memorial Award for Outstanding Writing on the Southern Environment.  Submissions must be received by Friday, January 13, in our Charlottesville headquarters.

>> Contest requirements are below, and more information can be found on our website.

SELC welcomes three new judges panel this year. Silas House, an award-winning author of The Coal Tattoo and co-author of Something’s Rising: Appalachians Fighting Mountaintop Removal, Bruz Clark, president and treasurer of the Chattanooga-based Lyndhurst Foundation, and Paul Sloan, former Deputy Commissioner for the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation.

SELC’s writing contest two categories: Book, for non-fiction books (not self-published), and Journalism, for newspaper, magazine writing, and online writing that is published by a recognized institution (e.g., newspaper, university or non-profit organization) and is journalistic in nature.  Prizes of $1,000 are awarded to the winner in each category.

* Submissions must have been published during calendar year 2011, be at least 3,000 words, and relate to the natural environment in at least one of SELC’s six states: Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee or Virginia.
* Send 16 copies to Reed Award, SELC, 201 W. Main Street, Ste. 14, Charlottesville, VA  22902. Include at least one copy in original format; Journalism entries must include a CD or email ( with text to verify word length. Submissions cannot be returned.

This year’s judges include:
Joel K. Bourne, Jr.-Contributing writer and former Senior Editor for the Environment at National Geographic.
Bruz Clark-President and treasurer of the Chattanooga-based Lyndhurst Foundation.
Jim Detjen-Director, Knight Center for Environmental Journalism, Michigan State University.
Hannah Fries-Associate Editor and Poetry Editor of Orion magazine.
Nikki Giovanni-Grammy-nominated poet, University Distinguished Professor at Virginia Tech.
Silas House-Award-winning author Interim Director, Loyal Jones Appalachian Center; Berea College.
Janet Lembke-Author of Because the Cat Purrs  and almost 20 other nature books.
Bill McKibben-Author and journalist, co-founder “,” scholar-in-residence at Middlebury College.
Deaderick Montague-Civic leader, teacher and writer, Vice President of SELC Board of Trustees.
Janisse Ray-Poet, activist, teacher and award-winning author of Ecology of a Cracker Childhood.
Charles Seabrook-Former environmental reporter for Atlanta Journal-Constitution; book author.
Paul Sloan-Former Deputy Commissioner Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation.
Donovan Webster-Author and journalist, Deputy Editor of award-winning Virginia Quarterly Review.

%d bloggers like this: